Celebrating Outstanding Lifetime Achievement and Inspiring Lives


On behalf of the Kyoto Symposium Organization, welcome to the eleventh annual Kyoto Prize Symposium.   We are excited to be entering the second decade of this unique symposium.

As we celebrate this year’s events, we are pleased to commemorate the 27th Anniversary of the Kyoto Prize.  We pay tribute to the Inamori Foundation for recognizing 87 extraordinary individuals who have made significant contributions to society through technology, science and the arts.

The 27th Kyoto Prize Laureates — Dr. John W. Cahn, Dr. Rashid Sunyaev and Tamasaburo Bando V — are excellent examples of what human beings can accomplish with new ideas and the desire to make the world a better place.

Our March 20, 2012 scholarship benefit Gala officially opens this year’s Symposium and will award six $10,000 Kyoto Prize Symposium Scholarships to college-bound high school seniors — three each from San Diego and Tijuana.  We believe these scholarships will inspire our students to fulfill their potential.  Our mission is that of the Kyoto Prize and its founder, Dr. Kazuo Inamori, to work toward the greater good of society.

We extend a special thank you to Dr. Kazuo Inamori and the Inamori Foundation for enriching our region by allowing San Diego to be the home of this important event.  We are also thankful to those who have given of their time and resources;  our sponsors, our academic institutions, our community leaders and all volunteers.

Mark your calendar for our next Kyoto Prize Symposium events, March 20-22, 2012, at San Diego State University; University of California, San Diego; and University of San Diego.  Thanks also to Point Loma Nazarene University for the Kyoto Prize Journalism Fellowship.





David C. Doyle

Kyoto Symposium Organization