2013 Kyoto Prize Laureates Have Been Announced


Kyoto Prize 2013 Laureates


The Inamori Foundation (President: Kazuo Inamori) is pleased to announce the laureates for the 2013 Kyoto Prize, an international award presented to people who have contributed significantly to the progress of science, the advancement of civilization, and the enrichment and elevation of the human spirit.

*Advanced Technology
“Invention of Dynamic Random Access Memory and Proposal of Guidelines for FET Miniaturization”
Dr. Robert Heath Dennard

U.S.A. /September 5, 1932
Electronics Engineer
IBM Fellow, Thomas J. Watson Research Center, IBM Corporation

*Basic Sciences
“Research on the Evolution of Biological Populations Using Quantitative Analyses of Genetic Variation and Evolutionary Time”
Dr. Masatoshi Nei

U.S.A./ January 2, 1931
Evolutionary Biologist
Professor, Pennsylvania State University

*Arts and Philosophy
“An Innovative Jazz Musician Who Has Fully Explored the Possibilities of Piano Improvisation”
Mr. Cecil Taylor

U.S.A. / March 25, 1929
Jazz Musician

The Kyoto Prize Presentation Ceremony will be held at the Kyoto International Conference Center in Kyoto, Japan on November 10, 2013. At the Ceremony, each laureate will be presented with a diploma, a Kyoto Prize Medal (20K gold), and prize money of 50 million yen.